Modern Indian History Selected Questions and Answers Set 2

Custom Search

Q.1:- Who was the founder of Prarthana Samaj ?

  1. Raja Ram Mohan Roy
  2. Debendranath Tagore
  3. Atmaram Pandurang
  4. Dayanand Saraswati

Ans:- (c) Atmaram Pandurang

Q.2:- Where was the first session of Indian National Congress held ?

  1. Calcutta
  2. Bombay
  3. Ahmedabad
  4. Allahabad

Ans:- (b) Bombay

Q.3:- At which congress session did Dadabhai Naoroji announce that Swaraj was the goal of India’s political efforts ?

  1. 1886 Calcutta Session
  2. 1893 Lahore Session
  3. 1905 Banaras Session
  4. 1906 Calcutta Session

Ans:- (d) 1906 Calcutta Session

Q.4:- All India Muslim League was formed at ?

  1. Lahore
  2. Aligarh
  3. Lucknow
  4. Dhaka

Ans:- (d) Dhaka

Q.5:- Who was the viceroy of India at the time of the formation of the Indian National Congress ?

  1. Curzon
  2. Canning
  3. Lawrence
  4. Dufferin

Ans:- (d) Dufferin

Q.6:- Other than Annie Besant, who among the following also launched Home Rule Movement in India ?

  1. Aurobindo Ghosh
  2. Bal Gangadhar Tilak
  3. Gopal Krishna Gokhle
  4. Moti Lal Nehru

Ans:- (b) Bal Gangadhar Tilak

Q.7:- Of the following who was called the ‘Father of Indian Unrest’ ?

  1. A.O. Home
  2. Dadabhai Naoroji
  3. Lokmanya Tilak
  4. Mahatma Gandhi

Ans:- (c) Lokmanya Tilak

Q.8:- The newspaper brought out by Bal Gangadhar Tilak to promote nationalism was ?

  1. Yugantar
  2. Deshbhakti
  3. Kesari
  4. Kranti

Ans:- (c) Kesari

Q.9:- Who led the attack on European Club at Pahartali in chittagong ?

  1. Pritilata Waddedar
  2. Loknath Bal
  3. Anant Singh
  4. Surya Sen

Ans:- (a) Pritilata Waddedar

Q.10:- Who tried the organise revolt by Indian Sepoys and Revolutionaries around 1913 ?

  1. Bagha Jatin
  2. Aurobindo Ghosh
  3. Ras Behari Bose
  4. Sachindra Nath Sanyal

Ans:- Ras Behari Bose

Q.11:- Who among the following were members of the Swaraj Party ?

  1. Motilal Nehru
  2. Sardar Patel
  3. Gopal Krishna Gokhle
READ ALSO:   Medieval Period Indian History Selected Questions and Answers Set 1

Select the correct option

  1. 1 Only
  2. 1 and 2 Only
  3. 2 and 3 Only
  4. 1, 2 and 3

Ans:- (a) 1 Only

Q.12:- Who prescribed the separate electorates for India on the basis of the Communal Award in August 1932 ?

  1. Lord Irwin
  2. Ramsay Mac Donald
  3. Lord Linlithgow
  4. Winston Chruchill

Ans:- (b) Ramsay Mac Donald

Q.13:- After the Chauri-Chaura incident, Gandhiji suspended the ?

  1. Civil Disobedience Movement
  2. Khilafat Movement
  3. Non-Cooperation Movement
  4. Quit India Movement

Ans:- (c) Non-Cooperation Movement

Q.14:- Quit India  Movement was led  by ?

  1. B.R. Ambedkar
  2. Jawahar Lal Nehru
  3. Mahatma Gandhi
  4. None of them

Ans:- (c) Mahatma Gandhi

Q.15:- Who among the following has the book ‘Hind Swaraj’ ?

  1. Bal Gangadhar Tilak
  2. Mahatma Gandhi
  3. Gopal Krishna Gokhle
  4. M.G. Ranade

Q.16:- Jammu and Kashmir became an integral part of India on ?

  1. 26th October, 1947
  2. 26th October, 1948
  3. 26th November, 1948
  4. None of these

Ans:- (a) 26th October, 1947

Q.17:- Mahatma Gandhi undertook fast unto death in 1932, mainly because ?

  1. Round Table Conference failed  to satisfy Indian Political aspirations
  2. Congress and Muslim League has differences of opinion
  3. Ramsay Macdonald announced the Communal Award
  4. None of the statements ‘a’, ‘b’ and ‘c’ given above is correct in this context

Ans:- (c) Ramsay Macdonald announced the communal Award

Q.18:- With reference to Simon Commission’s recommendations, which one of the following statement is correct ?

  1. It recommended the replacement of diarchy with responsible government in the province.
  2. It proposed the setting up of interprovincial council under the Home Department.
  3. It suggested the abolition of bicameral legislature at the centre.
  4. It recommended the creation of Indian Police Service with a provision for increased pay and allowances for British recruits as compared to Indian recruits.
READ ALSO:   Computer and IT Selected Questions and Answers Set 2

Ans:- (a) It recommended the replacement of diarchy with responsible government in the province.

Q.19:- British Crown assumed sovereignty over India from the East India Company in the year ?

  1. 1857
  2. 1858
  3. 1859
  4. 1860

Ans:- (b) 1858

Q.20:- The Civil Services was brought into existence in Indian by ?

  1. Warren Hastings
  2. Cornwallis
  3. Dalhousie
  4. Ripon

Ans:- (b) Cornwallis

Q.21:- When did Cabinet Mission arrive in India ?

  1. 1942
  2. 1945
  3. 1946
  4. 1947

Ans:- (c) 1946

Q.22:- Who among the following was a founder of the Swaraj Party ?

  1. Vallabh Bhai Patel
  2. Rajendra Prasad
  3. C.R. Das
  4. Narendra Dev

Ans:- (c) C.R. Das

Q.23:- Who was the last British Viceroy of India ?

  1. Lord Lintithgow
  2. Lord Wavell
  3. Clement Atlee
  4. Lord Mountbatten

Ans:- (d) Lord Mountbatten

Q.24:- Who developed the idea that ‘means justify the ends’ ?

  1. Kautilya
  2. Raja Ram Mohan Roy
  3. Dayanand Saraswati
  4. Mahatma Gandhi

Ans:- (d) Mahatma Gandhi

Q.25:- Who of the following was a founder of the Bharat Naujawan Sabha in 1926 ?

  1. Lala Lajpat Rai
  2. Sardar Bhagat Singh
  3. Lala Hardayal
  4. Sohan Singh Bhakhna

Ans:- (b) Sardar Bhagat Singh


Explore and Study More Topics

READ ALSO:   Biology (Botany, Zoology, Nutrition, Health, Agriculture, Ecology and Environment) : All SSC Exams Previous Years Questions Papers Solved Part 8