Modern Indian History Selected Questions and Answers Set 6

Custom Search

Q.1:- Which British Governor General introduced Postage Stamp in India ?

  1. Lord Dalhousie
  2. Lord Auckland
  3. Lord Canning
  4. Lord William Bentick

Q.2:- Who is the author of the book ‘Glimpses of World History’ ?

  1. Abul Kalam Azad
  2. Jawahar Lal Nehru
  3. Gopalan
  4. Radhakrishnan

Q.3:- Who established Shanti Niketan ?

  1. Jawahar Lal Nehru
  2. Bal Gangadhar Tilak
  3. Rabindra Nath Tagore
  4. Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi

Q.4:- When Congress leaders condemned the Montague-Chelmsford Report, many moderates left the party to form the ?

  1. Indian Liberal Federation
  2. Swaraj Party
  3. Indian Freedom Party
  4. Independence Federation of India

Q.5:- Who founded All India Harijan Sangh ?

  1. R. Ambedkar
  2. Mahatma Gandhi
  3. Jai Prakash Narayan
  4. Raj Narayan

Q.6:- At the time of partition of India, which one of the following provinces of British India came forward with a plan for a united and independent existence ?

  1. Punjab
  2. Assam
  3. Bengal
  4. Bihar

Q.7:- In which of the following did Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Play a leading role ?

  1. Bijolia Movement
  2. Dandi March
  3. Bardoli Satyagraha
  4. Textile Mill Workers strike at Ahmedabad

Q.8:- The main reason for the boycott of Simon Commission in India was ?

  1. Appointment before time
  2. All the members were Englishmen
  3. Chairman was a member of the British Liberal Party
  4. Gandhiji’s Non-Cooperation Movement

Q.9:- The Congress in Travencore launched a Civil Disobedience Movement against the autocratic Government of the Dewan of Travancore State, who was ?

  1. P. Ramaswami Aiyer
  2. Krishna Swamy
  3. K. Warrier
  4. Bhaskaran Nair

Q.10:- The first and last Indian to hold office as Governor General of Independent India was ?

  1. Jamanalal Bajaj
  2. Rajagopalachari
  3. Rajendra Prasad
  4. A. Ansari

Q.11:- Who was the first Indian native ruler to accept the system of Subsidiary Alliance ?

  1. Scindia of Gwalior
  2. Nizam of Hyderabad
  3. Dalip Singh of Punjab
  4. Gaikwad of Baroda
READ ALSO:   Indian Economy Selected Questions and Answers Set 4

Q.12:- With reference to the treaties made by the English with native rulers of India in the 18th Century, which one of the following pairs is not correctly matched ?

  1. Treaty of Allahabad : Shujauddaulah
  2. Treaty of Purandar : Marathas
  3. Treaty of Mangalore : Anwaruddin
  4. Treaty of Seringapattam : Tipu Sultan

Q.13:- Who was appointed Deputy Diwan of Murshidabad (Bengal) by Robert Clive after the Allahabad Treaty ?

  1. Reza Khan
  2. Raja Shitab Rai
  3. Rai Durlabh
  4. Syed Ghulam Hussain

Q.14:- The Academic Association  was founded by ?

  1. Ram Mohan Roy
  2. Henry Vivian Derozio
  3. Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar
  4. Ishwar Chandra Gupta

Q.15:- Kuka Movement was organised by ?

  1. Guru Ram Das
  2. Guru Nanak
  3. Guru Ram Singh
  4. Guru Gobind Singh

Q.16:- Which was common among Brahmo Samaj, Ram Krishna Mission and Arya Samaj ?

  1. None of these three had a political mission, but they helped to develop a spirit of patriotism
  2. All the three originated from Bengal
  3. Founders of all the three were educated in England
  4. Founders of all the three took active part in politics

Q.17:- Raja Ram Mohan Roy established Brahmo Samaj in ?

  1. 1816 AD
  2. 1820 AD
  3. 1828 AD
  4. 1830 AD

Q.18:- Who was the leader of Champaran Indigo Movement ?

  1. Mahatma Gandhi
  2. Birsa Munda
  3. Baba Ramchandra
  4. Ram Singh

Q.19:- The first President of All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC) was ?

  1. V. Giri
  2. A. Dange
  3. Nehru
  4. Lala Lajpat Rai

Q.20:- Who presided over the first session of All India Kisan Sabha ?

  1. Swami Sahajanand
  2. Indulal Yajnik
  3. N. Ranga
  4. C. Joshi
READ ALSO:   Biology Selected Questions and Answers Set 16

Q.21:- The Kula movement started in mid-nineteenth century in ?

  1. Western Punjab
  2. Maharashtra
  3. Bengal
  4. Madhya Bharat

Q.22:- Who among the following was not associated with the Revolt of 1857 ?

  1. Maharaja Ranjit Singh
  2. Nana Sahib
  3. Begum Hazrat Mahal
  4. Khan Bahadur

Q.23:- Who is the author of the book ‘The Last Mughal : The Fall of a Dynasty, Delhi, 1857’ ?

  1. John Kirkland
  2. William Dalrymple
  3. Thomas Wilson
  4. Simon Digby

Q.24:- The partition of Bengal came into effect on ?

  1. 15th August, 1905
  2. 15th September, 1905
  3. 15th October, 1905
  4. 15th November, 1905

Q.25:- Who founded Anushilan Samiti at Dhaka (Decca) ?

  1. Pulin Bihari Das
  2. Pramath Nath Mitra
  3. Swami Shradhanand
  4. Barinda Kumar Ghosh


Explore and Study More Topics

READ ALSO:   Computer and IT Selected Questions and Answers Set 5