What is Bharat Ratna Award? List Of Bharat Ratna Awardees

Custom Search
bharat ratna entranciology full article


‘Bharat Ratna’, the highest civilian Award of the country, was instituted in the year 1954. Any  person  without  distinction  of  race,  occupation,  position  or  sex  is  eligible  for  these awards.  It  is  awarded  in  recognition  of  exceptional  service/performance  of  the  highest order in any field of human endeavour. The number of annual awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year. Recipients receive a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a peepal-leaf–shaped medallion; there is no monetary grant associated with the award. The prime minister recommends the president the name of the person he thinks is fit. Sachin Tendulkar is the first sportsperson and the youngest Bharat Ratna Award Winner. Bharat Ratna recipients rank seventh in the Indian order of precedence.

First Awarded: 1954

Total Awards: 45

First awardee(s)        

  1. C. Rajagopalachari
  2. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
  3. C. V. Raman

Recent awardee(s)    

  1. Madan Mohan Malaviya (Posthumous)
  2. Atal Bihari Vajpayee

List of Bharat Ratna Awardees


Name Year

About him/her

1 Shri Chakravarti Rajagopalachari 1954 Last Governor – General, Independence activist
2 Dr. Sarvapali Radhakrishnan 1954 India’s 1st Vice President (1952 – 1962), Philosopher and India’s 2nd President (1962 – 1967)
3 Dr. Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman 1954 Physicist
4 Dr. Bhagwan Das 1955 Author, Independence activist, Kashi Vidya Peeth Founder
5 Dr. Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya 1955 Diwan of Mysore, Civil engineer
6 Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru 1955 Author, Independence activist, 1st Prime Minister
7 Pt. Govind Ballabh Pant 1957 Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Independence activist, Home Minister
8 Dr. Dhondo Keshave Karve 1958 Educator, social reformer
9 Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy 1961 Chief Minister of West Bengal and a Physician
10 Shri Purushottam Das Tandon 1961 Educator, Independence activist
11 Dr. Rajendra Prasad 1962 Jurist, Independence activist, 1st President of India
12 Dr. Zakir Hussain 1963 Scholar, Independence activist, 3rd President of India
13 Dr. Pandurang Vaman Kane 1963 Sanskrit scholar and Indologist
14 Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri (Posthumous) 1966 2nd Prime Minister of India, Independence activist
15 Smt. Indira Gandhi 1971 3rd Prime Minister of India
16 Shri Varahagiri Venkata Giri 1975 4th President, Trade unionist
17 Shri Kumaraswami Kamraj (Posthumous) 1976 Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Independence activist
18 Mother Teresa 1980 Founder of Missionaries of Charity and a Catholic nun
19 Shri Acharya Vinobha Bhave (Posthumous) 1983 Independence activist and a Social reformer
20 Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan 1987 Independence activist, First non-citizen
21 Shri Marudu Gopalan Ramachandran (Posthumous) 1988 Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Film actor
22 Dr. Bhim Rao Ramji Ambedkar (Posthumous) 1990 Crusader against Untouchablity, Chief architect of Indian Constitution, Social Reformer, Dalit Icon, Historian, Economist, scholar, politician
23 Dr. Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela 1990 2nd non – citizen and non – Indian recipient, Leader of Anti – Apartheid movement
24 Shri Rajiv Gandhi (Posthumous) 1991 6th Prime Minister of India
25 Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (Posthumous) 1991 Independence activist, 1st Home Minister
26 Shri Morarji Ranchhodji Desai 1991 4th Prime Minister and Independence activist
27 Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (Posthumous) 1992 1st Minister of Education and an Independence activist
28 Shri Jehangir Ratanji Dadabhai Tata 1992 Philanthropist and an Industrialist
29 Shri Satyajit Ray 1992 Filmmaker
30 Shri Gulzarilal Nanda 1997 Interim Prime Minister, Independence activist
31 Smt. Aruna Asaf Ali (Posthumous) 1997 Independence activist
32 Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam 1997 Aeronautical Engineer and 11th President of India
33 Smt. Madurai Sanmukhavadivu Subbulakshmi 1998 Carnatic classical singer
34 Shri Chidambaram Subramniam 1998 Minister of Agriculture and an Independence activist
35 Loknayak Jayaprakash Narayan (Posthumous) 1999 Politician, Independence activist
36 Professor Amartya Sen 1999 Economist
37 Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi (Posthumous) 1999 Chief Minister of Assam, Independence activist
38 Pandit Ravi Shankar 1999 Sitar player
39 Sushri Lata Dinanath Mangeshkar 2001 Playback singer
40 Ustad Bismillah Khan 2001 Hindustani classical shehnai player
41 Pandit Bhimsen Gururaj Joshi 2008 Hindustani classical singer
42 Sachin Tendulkar 2014 Indian Cricketer, First Sportsman and Youngest Indian who got Bharat Ratna
43 Prof. C.N.R Rao 2014 Indian Scientist
44 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 2015 Atal Bihari Vajpayee is an Indian statesman who was the Eleventh Prime Minister of India from BJP
45 Madan Mohan Malviya 2015 The freedom icon and Educationist popularly known as ‘Mahamana”.
READ ALSO:   Gallantry Awards in India : Military Awards, Army Medals, Bravery Awards

Explore and Study More Topics

READ ALSO:   Full List of Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners ( Recipients )